The Prime Minister announces the appointment of five new senators

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau announced today the appointment of five new members of the Senate.

Michèle Audette, Amina Gerba and Clément Gignac will represent Quebec in the Red Room. David Arnot will represent Saskatchewan and Karen Sorensen will represent Alberta.

The governor appoints senators on the recommendation of the prime minister. According to a press release from the Prime Minister’s Office, all five senators will participate as independents.

“All new senators are recommended by an independent advisory committee appointed by the Senate and are selected using a selection process open to all Canadians,” the press release said. “This process ensures that the senator is independent, reflects the diversity of Canada, and is able to respond to the wide range of challenges and opportunities facing the country.”

The Senate has 105 seats. These five appointments reduced the number of vacant seats to 10.

Source link