What is July 4th?

Today, July 4th, is a federal holiday known as Independence Day, celebrating the United States’ separation from the United Kingdom.

The Continental Congress declared independence on July 4, 1776, separating 13 North American colonies from the British politically.

This is a letter to King George III, officially explaining why the Continental Congress voted to declare independence from the British Empire.

It aims to justify the rebellion against Britain through a series of accusations against King George III.

The main problem was taxation and lack of control over its affairs. This declaration marked the beginning of a war of independence against Britain, which ended in 1783.


Source link