Boca Raton, FL, USA, 09/06/2017 /SubmitPressRelease123/
If you’re injured in a car accident and file a lawsuit though the defendant is the other driver, it’s actually an insurance company who’s paying for the defense attorney and it would pay a settlement or court award. Personal injury law and insurance law are two sides of the same coin. In most of our cases the defendant has at least one insurance policy covering the accident.
Auto insurance covers the harm done in an accident. That harm can be to vehicles and property and also the harm done to people by injuries.
Collision coverage is for damage to your vehicle if you are at fault in an accident. This can be caused by hitting another vehicle or an object.
Property damage liability coverage pays for physical damage caused by at fault drivers to other vehicles and property due to accidents.
Comprehensive coverage is to pay you in case of theft or damage to an insured’s vehicles that happen because of something other than a vehicle accident.
Insurance coverage to pay for injuries caused by an accident varies from state to state. Florida has a no-fault insurance system so crash injury costs are paid under the injured person’s first party personal injury protection coverage (PIP) no matter who’s at fault. There are limits in the policy based on the amount of money or injury severity. Costs that go over the limits could be covered by an at fault driver’s bodily injury liability coverage.
Personal injury protection (PIP) coverage pays up to a set amount for injuries no matter who caused an accident. The minimum amount varies from state to state (Florida’s minimum is $10,000). That amount needs to be exceeded before someone who’s injured can sue an at fault party for additional costs.
PIP coverage pays 80% of all reasonable and medically necessary medical treatment and services, 60% of lost wages and funeral expenses, subject to certain defenses and exceptions.
Florida vehicle owners should purchase more PIP coverage, known as “extended PIP,” when possible. Unless injuries are relatively minor it’s very easy for medical costs of treatment of an accident injury plus lost wages to be more than $10,000.
If you’re in a single vehicle accident, involved in a hit and run and the other driver isn’t found or he or she lacks insurance, if you just have the minimum PIP coverage $10,000 is all you will get from your insurer to cover your medical expenses and lost wages. It’s wise to pay for as much PIP coverage as you can afford.
If you or a loved one have been injured in a car accident, contact Boca car accident lawyer Joe Osborne at (561) 800-4011 or fill out this online contact form. You can discuss your case, how the law may apply and your best legal options to protect your rights and obtain compensation for your injuries.
Joe Osborne personal injury lawyer
Newsroom powered by Online Press Release Distribution – SubmitMyPressRelease.com
Like Us on Facebook